Final Fantasy VII, is it the best?

After being a gamer for many years, I will admit, I have played and liked many a Final Fantasy game.  I will admit also that I have Final Fantasy VII, but I have never played it all the way through. For some reason, the story just didn’t speak to me when I originally played it.  I think part of what tainted my favor was the fact that I was hearing from everyone who had played the game that it was the best.  Is this in fact true?  It certainly is a lucrative franchise, inspiring other games and a film.

So I watched the film, “Advent Children”, and I must say that it has caught my interest again.  It seems that Cloud Strife is full of self loathing for some reason, and I don’t know why.  Is it because he merely fooled himself into thinking he was an Ex-SOLDIER? Is it because he could not stop the murder of a friend, Aerith, by Sephiroth? The fact is I don’t know, but I must say now that I am very curious.  I guess I am in need of answers, and playing the game will give them to me.

So this Christmas break I have decided that I am going back to the game and I will try not to judge it by the same standards as Final Fantasy VIII or X, both games that I loved.  What I guess I need is a new story to discover.  If there is one thing that I know, it is that a good RPG requires a good story, and Square-Enix (formerly Square-Soft) consistently gives it’s players good stories.

I actually like going back to games I have already played.  I have done it several times with Suikoden, one of the best RPG series ever made (by Konami).  Going back and playing Final Fantasy VII will give me a new perspective about the game and its world. I look forward to going back to it and seeing the evil Sephiroth and the brooding Cloud once more.

2 thoughts on “Final Fantasy VII, is it the best?

  1. I own FFVII and have played it several times, but I do not believe it is the ‘best’ FF game. I do believe that you will enjoy playing it again and I do recommend playing it through to the end as so many spin-offs have been derived from it 🙂

  2. I recently played that game for the first time. It was fun. I think Cloud’s upset because he couldn’t stop Aerith from getting killed, but I’m not sure. I think FFVII is one of the best, but that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

