Becoming One of You

Just a small bit from something for the future. We shall see where this goes.
It was odd really. All his life, he had lived among people who were not his own, and when he met those that were, he did not wish to know them. But now that he did know them, they had become family. But why would they betray him like this? Why would they do this to him? Kirril was more confused than anything. Why would they allow him to live when they knew it was probably best that he die? Then he was angry. There was no reason for it! No justification! He would spend months recovering from injuries incurred in a battle that was not his own. He went with them gladly at the time. Why would he not? They were family. This is how he was rewarded.
The door opened quietly. He did not need to look to know who it was. They were not the footsteps of a stranger, but the footsteps of his brother. The one he had come to know so well over only a few months. They had become friends in that time. They may never become “brothers” in the classical sense, but Kirril know that Darien loved him as a brother might. Darien had risked his life to save Kirril. Kirril could not spurn him now. He sat up in his bed, though it pained him, and smiled at Darien.
“Darien.” He said in a strained voice. “It is good to see you.”
“It is good to see you as well.” Darien said worriedly. “I knew you would not leave me.”
“And would that be so bad?” Kirril asked.
Darien was taken aback. “What do you mean?”
“Broken wrists. I will never hold a sword or a shield again. Never fire a bow, perhaps I won’t even be able to write as well as I used to. Two broken ankles, and my knees are pretty well ruined as well. I shall never walk right again.”
“I know.” Darien said. “But you have your life…”
“And what is that worth?!” Kirril cried. “What use is a life if I cannot live it. I shall never run across the fields again, jump across the streams, my warrior days are over. I am nothing! Less than nothing…My life is undeserved.”
“Kirril, I know you have been badly hurt…” Darien started.
“Badly hurt? Badly hurt?”
“Yes, but I will do everything to help you.”
“I don’t want your help.” Kirril said. The he grew angry again. “And I don’t need your pity! If you had cared for me at all, you would have let me die the way I should have! A fine warriors death instead of dying a useless cripple! How could you do this to me!!”
“I did what I did because I love you, Kirril.” Darien said. “Because you are my brother. Do you not love me, brother? Are we not family?”
Kirril looked away from him. “I do not have any family here. They are all far away in a distant land.”
Darien began to weep. “How can you say that? How can you wound me with such terrible words?”
“Are they not true? My mother is far away. She is my only family. You are my betrayer, not my family, or my brother or my savior. Go away. You do not belong…” He stopped for a moment. “No, that is not so. It is I who does not belong here.”
Leave a Reply

